Awards 2019

Welcome to the 2019 National Awards

About the 2019 Awards

Every year, the Awards celebrate the achievements of Apps for Good students from across the UK. Judges have reviewed hundreds of entries to select the most promising product ideas across five categories. The Winners will be chosen by a panel of Dragons at the Awards day in London on 18th June.

AFGA20 CategoryIcons 500x296px 1

Digital Explorers

Supported by The LEGO Group, this category showcases the best app ideas from younger student.

See the Finalists

Arrow right
Category Banner - Future Technologists

Future Technologists

Supported by BNY Mellon, this category showcases top tech ideas from regions and nations of the UK

See the Finalists

Arrow right
AFGA20 CategoryIcons 500x296px 3

Founders & Leaders

Supported by Eight Roads, this category awards the best social enterprise ideas.

See the Finalists

Arrow right
AFGA20 CategoryIcons 500x296px 4

Community Heroes

Supported by Vodafone, this category focuses on ideas that impact students’ local community

Meet the finalists:

Arrow right
AFGA20 CategoryIcons 500x296px 5

Global Innovators

Supported by Spotify, this category rewards cutting-edge digital ideas tackling global problems.

See the Finalists

Arrow right
AFGA20 CategoryIcons 500x296px 6

The People's Choice Award

Supported by Marsh, the People's Choice Award celebrates your favourite student idea.

Cast your vote now

Arrow right

The 2019 Awards categories are supported by

Logo – Spotify Logo - BNY Mellon 2 Logo – Eight Roads
Logo – LEGO Logo – SAP Vodafone - Logo

2019 Impact Prizes

Supported by EPAM, the Impact Prizes celebrate the most outstanding Apps for Good teachers, schools and industry volunteer Experts for 2019.


Daniel Mullings


Expert of the Year
Misbourne logo

The Misbourne School


School of The Year
IMG 2396

Jo Newell

Harris Academy Bermondsey

Teacher of the Year
Logo – epam

Meet the Dragons

Person - Philippa Adcock

Philippa Adcock

Warner Bros

Technology Projects
Person - Sian Allsopp

Siân Allsopp

Morgan Stanley

Executive Director
Person - Anna Barsby

Anna Barsby

Formerly of Morrisons & Halfords

CIO & Transformation Director
Person - Craig Blakeway

Craig Blakeway

Sopra Steria UK

Intelligent Analytics Practice Director
Person - Alvin Carpio

Alvin Carpio

The Fourth Group

Chief Executive
People - David Fisayo

David Fisayo


Person - Catherine Knivett

Catherine Knivett

Corsham Institute and Tech UK

Interim COO and Skills & Diversity Council Vice Chair
Person - Elaine McCulloch

Elaine McCulloch


Sage Foundation Manager UKI
Person - Ildefonso Olmedo

Ildefonso Olmedo

Santander Technology

Director of Innovation
Person - Melissa Phillips

Melissa Phillips


Games Programme Manager
Person - Nicholas Shekerdemian

Nicholas Shekerdemian


Co-founder & Executive Chairman

The 2019 Awards ceremony will be presented by

Person - Arti Halai

Arti Halai

Fleet Street Group


Employability Skills Prize Partner

Logo – Capgemini

Event Partners

Logo - CodeNode Skills Matter Logo - Uncorked